Advisory Board

John Niederhuber, MD

CEO at Inova Translational Medicine Institute (ITMI), Adjunct Professor of Oncology and Surgery, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Deputy Director, Johns Hopkins Clinical Research Network.

Dr. Niederhuber brings a lifetime of medical knowledge, large organization management experience and vision to his position as CEO, including his most recent tenure as director of the National Cancer Institute. A nationally renowned surgeon and researcher, he has dedicated his four-decade career to the treatment and study of cancer.

Dr. Niederhuber previously served as NCI's chief operating officer and deputy director for translational and clinical sciences and chair of the National Cancer Advisory Board. He remains involved in research at the National Institutes of Health.As a surgeon, Dr. Niederhuber's clinical emphasis is on gastrointestinal cancer, hepatobiliary (liver, bile duct, and gallbladder) and breast cancers. He is recognized for his pioneering work in hepatic artery infusion chemotherapy and was the first to demonstrate the feasibility of totally implantable vascular access devices.

Dr. Niederhuber is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Science and has received numerous honors and awards.

Dr. Malini Narayanan, MD, FAANS

Recognized for her dedication, leadership, and excellence in neurosurgical healthcare. With over nine years of experience, Dr. Narayanan is known for her breadth of expertise ranging from state-of-the-art brain surgeries, endoscopic carpal tunnel release, to minimally invasive cutting edge spinal surgeries.

A true pioneer, Dr. Narayanan introduces newer techniques to community hospitals. She performed first awake craniotomies, unique minimally invasive spine surgeries and applies cutting-edge, innovative methods to treat traumatic spine injuries at the busiest trauma center in the DC metro area. She was recognized at the Annual 2015 American Association of Neurological Surgeons and publishes journals.

Dr. Narayanan has personal experience with neurologic conditions and committed to make a difference in the medical field at a young age and compassion for others who are suffering. Dr. Narayanan trained at some of the top universities including Harvard University, University of Chicago and alsoreceived a Harvard Resident Teaching Award. She was recognized for her commitment to advancing patient outcomes at the 2003 CNS Resident Research Award, pediatric neurosurgery fellowship at the University of Chicago Comer Children’s Hospital, and honored with America’s Top Surgeon 2007, 2013 Vitals Patient Recognition Award and 2013 Worldwide Who’s Who.

James R Howard-Tripp

Chairman and CEO at Innovative Diagnostic Laboratory, has specialized in the research, development and launch of innovative pharmaceutical products and the growth and development of the companies that research and market them.

He has been involved in the management (GD Searle, Wyeth-Ayerst) and creation (Allelix, Labopharm, Dermacor) of several successful companies. He has 13 years' experience as a President and CEO and has sat on multiple Boards, most as Chairman. Most recently, as President and CEO of Labopharm, he oversaw the research, development and approval of 3 products and the launch of 2, with the lead product marketed in 19 countries (total end user sales approximately $100 million). During his tenure, Labopharm raised >$250 million in the public markets (US IPO $112 million in 2006) and achieved >$100 million in deal revenue (partners included: Sanofi-Aventis, Purdue Pharma, Merck Inc., Grunenthal, Angelini and Esteve). Additionally, he has served on various scientific and industry committees as well as several not-for-profit boards.